Who are we writing for?

I started thinking about my project and who it will benefit (apart from me). Who do I want to be interested in my research? And when I’ve decided who I want it to benefit, does that affect my research questions? My research do not really cover the most pressing issues of Iraqi Kurdistan right now, but that doesn’t make it any less important. However, when I find something important for society, but slightly unrelated to my topic, should I try to write about it anyway?

Could the research I do help improve the situation for people living in Kurdistan? If so, who needs to know about my research to help improve it? Could my research help improve population-environment research in general? And finally, how much can and should a PhD student’s research contribute to improving the world?

Leave a Reply

