SCIENCE – What I thought I would do

What my friends think I do:

– travel the world, write super advanced stuff

What my mom thinks I do:

– study something, was it called physical geography?

What society thinks I do:

– work on solving that climate change problem

– spend tax money

What I thought I would do:

– have great adventures and do ground breaking research in unknown fields that will change the way we view the world

What I actually do:

– write research proposals (aka beg for money)

– try to satisfy various peer reviewers’ egos

– write articles based on data so flawed that it’s impossible to say anything based on the results (but the results could indicate a potential effect which might…)

– spend years on writing papers that less than 5 people will actually read (and most will just read the abstract and maybe the conclusions)

Best Regards and Happy Publishing,

The Cynical Scientist

 

Leave a Reply

